Huron, SD, USA

Ringneck Festival and Bird Dog Challenge

Ringneck Festival & Bird Dog Challenge

2024 Ringneck Festival & Bird Dog Challenge

October 31-November 2, 2024, will mark the 27th year of the Huron Ringneck Festival competitive hunt and the 22nd year for the Bird Dog Challenge. Thirty teams with participants from across the US have the opportunity to compete in the event. Mark your calendars as you won't want to miss out on the 27th Annual Huron Ringneck Festival, October 31 - November 2, 2024. The Bird Dog Challenge deadline is October 1st. Hunters get your teams ready and register today!

You will find more information below on the Ringneck Festival & Bird Dog Challenge along with rules and applications that you can download. Only 30 teams will be accepted for the competition hunt and 40 for the Bird Dog Challenge so be sure to get your application in by the August 30, 2024 deadline.

To Participate, Contact:

Huron Chamber & Visitors Bureau
(605) 352-0000

Ringneck Festival Competitive Hunt

The Ringneck Festival competitive hunt consists of six-member teams, each attempting to bring back 18 pheasants. Each member is allowed four shells, for a team limit of 24. Limiting the number of shells helps ensure that hunters will take clean shots, reducing the number of injured birds.

The entry fee is $1,800 per team ($300 per hunter) which includes meals, hunts, live entertainment, and prizes. The winning team members and hosting landowner each receive a shotgun.

2024 Ringneck Festival Rules & Application

Bird Dog Challenge

The Huron Ringneck Festival Bird Dog Challenge is an exhibition that tests the skills of dogs and hunters. The event is scheduled for October 1 - November 2, 2024 and kicks off the Ringneck Festival weekend.

Each competition allows for two hunters and one dog to take the field. Each hunter is limited to five shells and has 15 minutes to harvest birds.

Points are awarded to each team based on the birds harvested, full retrieves, partial retrieves, normal retrieves, shots not taken, and every second remaining on the clock. Registration fee is $175 per team. Cash prizes are awarded to first through fifth place teams.

2024 Bird Dog Challenge Rules & Application

While in Huron for the Ringneck Festival check out for more hunting opportunities.

Ringneck Festival Committee Volunteer Scholarship

The Ringneck Festival Committee of the Huron Chamber & Visitors Bureau has established a scholarship for college-aged family members of volunteers or landowners of the previous year’s festival. Money for the scholarship fund was raised at the awards banquet from the competing teams as a thank you to the community and volunteers for hosting the event.

Scholarship Application

RLB's Ringneck Festival Hall of Fame

The RLB’s Ringneck Festival Hall of Fame was established in 2009 to honor participants for years spent in the festival and showing extraordinary enthusiasm during and outside of the event.

This honorary award ia set up to recognize participants of the festival who have given tremendously through event history whether it is financially, spiritually, or any other worthy form. Nominees’ characteristics show a tremendous passion for the Ringneck Festival, hunting, and outdoors in general. Nominees exhibit support of the event, from participating, recruiting and genuinely enjoying the event overall. The Ringneck Festival Hall of Fame will carry on the spirit of this event for years to come with each individual being recognized for their assistance in making the Ringneck Festival what it is today and what it will be for years to come. Click below for nomination form.

View Nomination Form

View Past Inductees

  • 2009 - Dr. E.W. Carr of Miller, SD - Landowner
  • 2009 - Rich Langbehn of Wolsey, SD. - Landowner
  • 2009 - Roger Bultman of Jackson, MN, - Team Member/Supporter
  • 2009 - Jack Link of Minong, WI - Team Member/Sponsor
  • 2010 - Questionable Characters – Team
  • 2010 - Bob Strassman-Team Member
  • 2011 - Tom "TG" Westphal-Scorekeeper
  • 2012 - Danny Hofer of Huron-Landowner
  • 2012 - Kent Shelton - Committee Chairman and Team Member
  • 2013 - Tim Kasinger - Team Member/Sponsor/Supporter
  • 2014 - Steve Besch - Committee Member
  • 2015 - Peggy Woolridge Besch - Committee Member and Team Cuttem' - Team
  • 2016 - Joel Horn - Scorekeeper and Hawkeye Hunters - Team
  • 2017 - DJ, Chisum, & Payton Hofer - Landowners
  • 2017 - Greg & Bobbie Ward - Landowners
  • 2017 - John Farrell - Scorekeeper
  • 2018 - JJ & Kelly Burke - Landowners
  • 2018 - Ben Meyer - Auctioneer
  • 2019 - Ernest Baruth & Sons - Landowners
  • 2019 - Prostrollo Motor Sales - Sponsor/Supporter
  • 2021 - Mike Carroll - Scorekeeper
  • 2021 - Jim Hein - Scorekeeper
  • 2022 - Greg Gruntmeier - Landowner
  • 2022 - The Plainsman - Sponsor/Supporter
  • 2023 - Rory & Ranea Burke - Landowner

Influencer & Builder Chamber Investors